Solver's Forum
Messages in this topic - RSS

Home » Logic Problem Exchange » Some help?

Logic Problem fans, discuss solutions and get solving help.
2/5/2016 1:34:31 PM

dks123
dks123
I'm new to logic puzzles and to this site. I was wondering if anyone would help me with how to interpret a clue. This involves a card game with five cards assigned five different values. The values are 9, 7, 5, 3, and 1.

Here is the clue: The Factory (which doesn't direct everyone to rotate their hands to the left), Babette's card, and the one that tells players to discard one card are the three lowest-scoring cards, in some order.

A later clue states that the card that directs each player to give his or her hand to the player to the left is worth fewer points that one other card.

My question is this? What can I assume about the value of the card that directs each player give his or her hand to the player to the left?

2/5/2016 2:44:08 PM

Semipro
Semipro
The first clue is no help with the value of this card, not without more information about some other cards. The second clue tells you that the card doesn't have a value of 9 points. If the second clue said the card was worth fewer points than EXACTLY one other card, you'd know that this card was the 7-pointer, but if it doesn't say that, all you know (yet) is that it isn't the 9.

2/5/2016 3:17:19 PM

dks123
dks123
Semipro wrote:
The first clue is no help with the value of this card, not without more information about some other cards. The second clue tells you that the card doesn't have a value of 9 points. If the second clue said the card was worth fewer points than EXACTLY one other card, you'd know that this card was the 7-pointer, but if it doesn't say that, all you know (yet) is that it isn't the 9.