Solver's Forum
Messages in this topic - RSS

Home » Variety Central » Did they change the type of paper used?

See what other Variety puzzle fans have to say/share your solutions.
3/5/2016 1:01:19 AM

JohnJSal
JohnJSal
I know this is a weird question, but I'm hoping someone knows, or maybe an editor will answer.

I've been using an erasable ink pen for a couple of months now, and so far it has worked great. It leaves almost no trace that I've even erased anything. I've used it for several of the past few months issues of Penny Press variety puzzle magazines.

However, I just started the March issue of Variety Puzzles and Games and immediately I noticed a difference when I erased. Now, it leaves a dark gray smudge over the area and looks quite unappealing.

So I'm curious if maybe the ink and/or paper used in this particular issue is different than the past issues. If so, I hope it goes back to the other kind, because erasing in this issue is very ugly.

Thanks!
edited by JohnJSal on 3/5/2016

3/5/2016 10:26:31 PM

Bernadette1959
Bernadette1959
John, by coincidence, I almost came here the other day and asked if PennyDell had changed the kind of ink they were using. My problem was not smudging, but the magazine print being erased along with my pencil marks.

I'm hoping it was just a fluke.
edited by Bernadette1959 on 3/6/2016

3/5/2016 11:33:15 PM

JohnJSal
JohnJSal
I really hope so too. I love using ink for the puzzles, but only if I can erase it. And this particular issue is making the erasures look horrible.

P.S. And yes, I noticed that the magazine ink was being erased too :-(
edited by JohnJSal on 3/5/2016

3/6/2016 1:55:45 AM

Josh
Josh
They list the printer on the bottom of one of the early pages of each issue. Recently I've noticed the full-size magazines are being printed by a new printer, which assumedly means changes. I'd compare the names on them as that change was pretty recent.

3/6/2016 7:34:17 AM

Bernadette1959
Bernadette1959