Solver's Forum
Messages in this topic - RSS

Home » General Discussion » Submitting Puzzles

General Discussion.
5/1/2011 12:47:43 PM

Mary
Mary
I LOVE the Penny Press variety puzzles, and have created several that I would like to submit to the editors for consideration. I received info from Penny Press regarding criteria, but need advice on how to properly word a submission letter. Any assistance will be greatly appreciated. Thanks! smile

5/1/2011 5:58:23 PM

Frances
Frances
Hi mary1964,

I am a contributor to Penny Press variety magazines. For a letter to accompany your submissions, short and simple would be best. "Dear Editor, Enclosed please find [whatever you're sending] to be considered for publication. Thank you."---or something of the sort would be okay. You won't necessarily need letters later if you submit regularly.

And don't let returns bother you. I've been contributing to Penny Press for 30 years and still get some back occasionally. An editor will tell you what the problem is with a particular return, and you can try again.

Since you've already got info from Penny Press for submissions, and have some puzzles made---go for it. Good luck!

Frances.

5/2/2011 12:23:28 PM

Mary
Mary
Thanks so much Frances! It's great that you have been a regular contributor for 30 years. Do you have any other advice/tips for "rookies" like myself? Thanks again and have a great day smile

Mary

5/2/2011 2:32:31 PM

Frances
Frances
Hi Mary,

I can give you a few generalities. Accuracy and neatness are important. Test solve all puzzles. Even the hard ones that take a while. Make sure there's only one solution if it is required. Re-check your submissions just before they're sent off. It's rare that I don't find at least one typo or other little goof that I have to fix.