Solver's Forum
Messages in this topic - RSS

Home » Your Opinion » My Opinion

Give us your feedback about our new forum.
4/20/2012 12:13:41 AM

Howdy, Admin, and please allow me to offer up a few things that I think might improve your site a little. I'm no expert, but I AM a site admin on a board elsewhere, and I do have experience in reading multiples of forums.

I think you've got the topic list covered pretty well. The front page is easy to read, and there are a number of places where folks can come and read about specific topics in your magazines. I'm not sure about the separation of Penny and Dell, but I'm sure there's a good reason for it. I enjoy the fact you have this topic where we can talk to you specifically, and the general chat is a gas as well. I'd suggest keeping an eye on dates on the front page. Naturally, there will be some topics that lag, so if you see it, perhaps there could be a merging that would make your jobs easier, and make it that much more of a community? I don't know, I'm just tossing ideas out there.

I don't want to be confusing, so let me define a few things. Forum. That's this whole place. Topics are what I'm calling the headings on the front page. Threads are the headings within the topics when you click on one. Posts would be the continuation of that within a thread. Clear? Cool.

Now, let's get to it, shall we? I currently have 576 unread topics, which I defined as threads. That's a taunt to me, as I'm current with near everything here, but your new system is telling me I'm far from it. If there was some way for me to remove that easily, say a 'mark all as read' button, that would be good but I'm not seeing one. Enlighten me if I'm missing it. If there isn't, your forum is telling me my past due diligence was all for naught, and that's why I call it a taunt, heheh. I suggest you fix that in some way.