Solver's Forum
Messages in this topic - RSS

Home » Math and Logic Problem Exchange » Math & Logic Problems "Collector's Editions"

Logic Problem fans, discuss solutions and get solving help.
10/25/2012 9:45:54 AM

Gary Kleppe
Gary Kleppe
Dear editors,

It seems like the past four or five issues of M&LP have been "Collector's Editions," which is a really silly euphemism for reprint issues. How long is this going to continue? Speaking as a collector, I see no reason to keep paying for magazines containing puzzles that I've already bought. I'm seriously thinking of letting my subscription lapse and just picking up the non-reprint issues in stores, if and when any come out.

10/25/2012 9:51:31 AM

Amy Lowenstein
Amy Lowenstein
Gary, you'll probably find that some (but not all) of the puzzles in regular editions you can buy in the store, are also reprints of "oldies but goodies." I have a subscription to Dell logic puzzles, and every so often I recognize several old puzzles I had once done (but I do enjoy trying them again). Since I don't usually save my old magazines, this is fine with me. I can see, though, that if you keep enough old puzzle books, and keep them in good enough condition that you can re-do a puzzle several years later if you want, you could indeed save money by not bothering to keep up your subscription. Every so often, though, a bi-monthly issue will turn out to have a few completely NEW puzzles, mixed in with many of the old ones. So then you'd be losing out on seeing some cool new puzzle.

--
Amy

10/25/2012 1:41:49 PM

Purple Pisces
Purple Pisces