Solver's Forum
Messages in this topic - RSS

Home » Math and Logic Problem Exchange » Cross Sums question

Logic Problem fans, discuss solutions and get solving help.
7/9/2013 3:04:21 PM

Purple Pisces
Purple Pisces
As much as I love Cross Sums I'm no expert so other solvers may have a different opinion from mine. When I hit a tough area of a puzzle I'll mentally fill in a number and see if it will work. I wouldn't call it trial and error though because I'm not physically filling in the number and following through several steps to see if it will work. Usually with this scenario of mentally plugging in a number I'm able to rule out either a large or small digit which helps me find the right one from remaining possibilities.

I think I would have a much easier time solving Cross Sums if I penciled in the possibilities for each square when I reach a tough spot, much like in Sudoku, but I like using my Frixion pens too much when doing these puzzles! smile

So I would say logic is involved instead of trial and error, though the logic may always not be so easy to see.

7/9/2013 4:08:53 PM

Frances
Frances
I try to use logic only. When really stumped, I do pencil in a couple of possiblities and keep solving on them to see which won't work out. Is that trial and error? While I'm sure logic alone can solve a Cross Sums, like Purple said, that logic might be missed. But to me the logic of these puzzles is no where near the complexity of some sudokus! After years of solving Cross Sums, I think just familiarity with certain sums has proved to be the most helpful! smile

7/9/2013 6:24:06 PM

Frances
Frances