Solver's Forum
Messages in this topic - RSS

Home » Math and Logic Problem Exchange » New to Logc puzzles

Logic Problem fans, discuss solutions and get solving help.
9/20/2013 11:20:44 AM

cantsolve
cantsolve
Hello Everyone, I'm new to the world of Logic puzzles. I'm trying to work on my first one but seem to be stuck. can someone please solve this along with the proper procedure of solving? Thanks everyone

here's the problem:

On Police Officer Appreciation Day at the Bear Clause Donut Shop and Law Firm, all local officers who stopped by in uniform got to eat as many donuts as they wanted. 30 men and women in blue showed up and chowed down.When the cloud of powdered sugar finally settled and the satisfied officers left, the clerk realized she had forgotten to write down how many donuts each officer had eaten. The legal branch of the Bear Clause Donut Shop and Law firm informed her that because of some quirk in the law, she must report the total number of officers who ate 6. 7, 8, or 9 donuts so those baked goods could be written off as charitable donation. All the poor clerk could remember was that 10 of the officers ate fewer then 6 donuts, 8 ate more than 7 donuts, 5 ate more than 8 donuts, and 1 ate more than 9 donuts. Can you help the clerk stay out of trouble with her bosses by figuring out the total number of officers who ate 6,7,8, or 9 donuts?

9/20/2013 1:46:42 PM

Frances
Frances
As far as I could figure, the clerk didn't remember enough to stay out of trouble with her bosses. From what we're given: There's no way for me to tell how many (if any) ate either exactly 6 or exactly 7 donuts. Of the 8 that ate more than 7, could any of them have eaten, say, a dozen? Did the officers not mentioned in the clues eat any donuts at all? There just doesn't seem to be sufficient information for me to determine much of anything. Maybe I'm just missing how to approach this. Sorry. Anyone else?
edited by Frances on 9/20/2013

9/20/2013 3:53:13 PM

Purple Pisces